Songs to Cheer You Up (Because It’s Wednesday)

It’s the middle of the week. Wednesday is definitely in my top five least-favorite-days-of-the-week-list. It’s the kindof day where I don’t want to listen to some silly, blonde blogger go on and on about her minute observations about the inner workings of pop culture. I’m assuming you feel the same way. So, here’s a playlist of songs to get you through the rest of the week. As always, here’s the playlist on YouTube.

This Too Shall Pass by Ok Go

“You know you can’t keep lettin’ it get you down/ And you can’t keep draggin’ that dead weight around…Let it go, this too shall pass. Let it go, this too shall pass.”

Rudder North

I really wanted to share this whole album  (especially the song “All in Good Timing”) but there were no videos. These guys are from the D.C. area (and one is a Terp). This is my go-to album on bad days. Their music is complex and rich with a hopeful undertone that just picks you right up and puts you back on your feet.

Memphis Shakedown by Carolina Chocolate Drops

If you’ve ever seen such a magnificent use of the kazoo, I’ll eat my own cat (I don’t wear hats). Oh, and their bass is a jug.

Chelsea Dagger by The Fratellis

Good news from across the pond.

First Day of My Life by Bright Eyes

This is how I feel about you, reader. Really, Truly, No Lie. And I hope you are having a wonderful Wednesday.

A-Punk by Vampire Weekend

Such snappy young gents.

Uncle Skeleton 

Go ahead and try not to smile. I dare you. (Btw, you can download their music for free on their website.)

ManWomanBoogie by Q-Tip feat. Amanda Diva

What better way to lift your spirits than dancing. So “Man and woman, yo you might as well dance.”


2 thoughts on “Songs to Cheer You Up (Because It’s Wednesday)

  1. Pingback: I Hereby Forbid the Phrase “I’m not into politics.” « Ezra Won't Shut Up

What do you think?

