#NYE So Long 2012, You’ve Actually Been Rather Helpful

So long 2012. You’ve been an awful year at first glance, but then again I’ve learned so much this year. I’ve learned about perseverance, about the importance of Christian fellowship, more about the importance of The Fellowship (of the Ring, duh), and the history of Iceland, Norse mythology, and Vikings. I’ve learned how to handle big set backs and feeling directionless. My belief that Will Ferrel is never going to stop being hilarious has been reinforced. I’ve gotten better at understanding my family and trusting my friends. I’ve learned that a good roommate is better than living alone.

Throwing that nasty ring out, cause that's how I do.

Throwing that nasty ring out, cause that’s how I do.

I’ve read so many great books and magazines and articles as well as so many entertaining imaginary texts from imaginary friends when I’m feeling awkward in public. I’ve learned that there are actually some good things about no longer being in college. I’ve gotten better at hanging pictures on the wall. My cooking skills have improved; I’ve added a mixed berry pie and innumerable variations on tofu to my repertoire. I learned about James Bond’s childhood, the fiscal cliff, Schrödinger’s cat, iphonography, and picked up some key geological terms.

While dabbling in gardening, I learned how hard it was. While dabbling in banjo, I learned that I am much better at reading a book and remembering everything in it than learning any skill that requires daily repetition. I have learned that this shortcoming is a big roadblock in exercising, getting better at the violin, being a successful blogger, and keeping acne under control. I have gotten better at exercising self-control at the computer and not binging on netflix (but I reserve the right to put aside this control when a new season of Parks & Rec, Downton Abby, The Office, 30 Rock, Psych, Once Upon a Time,  or HIMYM come out….so basically I’ve only learned self control because I’ve watched everything on Netflix already.)

Illustration by Walter Crane

Illustration by Walter Crane

I have learned that I should keep a diverse chocolate collection in my kitchen at all times; by diverse I mean all chocolate darker than 70% cocoa. I learned that the pods on the Cocoa tree are huge and yellow and beautiful. Besides my love for dark chocolate, I also fell in love with 18th and 19th century illustration, especially the magnificent work of Walter Crane. I’ve developed an attachment to maps and globes, become a devotee of rainymood.com, and formed a perfectly justifiable book buying problem (about two a week if I’m being good).

I’ve learned so much at my job: marketing, interior design, granite fabrication, how to interact with co-workers, the importance of a clean desk, and how to look busy and straight faced when I’m scrolling through #WhatShouldWeCallMe and Relevant Magazine. I’ve even gotten better at gift giving and actively showing and telling the loved ones in my life that I love them. Just in the last 3 or 4 hours I’ve learned that Wagner’s Ring Cycle is the coolest opera I’ve ever heard. I think I may even love it more than Satyagraha.

Most importantly, I’ve learned more about the character of God. I’ve learned more about the power of the Word. I’ve experienced first hand the comfort and peace God grants those who love him during the valleys of life. I understand more deeply my own inability to change my nature and God’s unwavering commitment to save me despite myself. I’ve begun to understand Romans 5:3-5 more fully, and my hunger for the Truth is greater than ever, praise the Lord.

So, on the surface, 2012 really sucked. It hurt me emotionally and physically.  A lot of things happened that I didn’t want to happen. I  made a lot of mistakes. But, looking back at all the things I’ve learned, I’m starting to see that because of the temporary trials and pains of 2012, I have gained things that I have for my whole life. I’ve grown in knowledge, hopefully in wisdom, in endurance, in perseverance, in patience, and many other wonderful gifts that I would never have bothered to acquire if I’d been happy and everything was going my way. This year, I’ve learned (for the umpteenth time….it’s a difficult lesson) that “in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose,” even when it looks like the opposite is happening. I can’t say that if I could do 2012 all over again, I would do it the same; I really don’t want to do it all over again so I’m just not going to think about that scenario. What I can say is that 2012 has not been a waste, and I think that’s a pretty great thing to be able to say about a whole year.

The End…..or is it…bum bum bum…..

Casa De Mi Padre: Pure Comedic Gold

Casa De Mi Padre: Pure Comedic Gold

*I’ve also learned that no one reads this blog, so I’ve saved myself the time that it would take to carefully proof read. Typos are probably everywhere. I’m real that way.

5 thoughts on “#NYE So Long 2012, You’ve Actually Been Rather Helpful

  1. Pingback: The Daily Post: Quite Possibly on the Wrong Side of Midnight « Ezra Won't Shut Up

  2. Happy New Year, Hannah! Glad I’m not the only one who occassionally reads imaginary texts. Sorry this year has been such a difficult one for you. So glad you have your feet planted firmly in the foundation of the Truth! Hoping 2013 holds a new, refreshing season for you!

What do you think?

